I blame it all on Jeannette.

Okay, so I have been telling you that I was REALLY busy this past summer and I think most of you believe me because I live on a working farm, have four little youngin’s, two aging parents, one blind brother, a big garden to feed the babes, lots of animals, a new donkey, and one very cranky husband. (This sentence works better if sung to “The Twelve Days of Christmas.” Do it. Trust me, I know what I’m talking about. Nah, not really, but try it anyway.)

So, on top of all this active lifestyle, I also like to peruse Craig’s list. I never even knew anything about Craig’s list until  the summer of 2008 when my dear friends from Wisconsin came to stay with us for a week. That was the summer that I lived in the outfitter’s tent with the youngin’s. I will mention the great thing about Joe and Jeannette from Wisconsin is that they are the greatest houseguests EVER. When they visited, they were thrilled to stay in the outfitter’s tent for their stay which meant that I did not have to clean my insanely messy house for their visit. I could just move back into my own house for a week and it does not bother me one bit to live in this constant state of mess. Thus, this avoided the “whole freaking out because my house is a freakin’ mess and I have guests coming in 3 hours because I procastinated putting off cleaning it because I would much rather be outside puttering around.”  This is my mentality pretty much all of the time. And I wonder why Cranky is cranky?

This is Joe. Joe likes trees. I mean, REALLY likes trees. For Pete's sake, the boy has several college degrees in trees. Seriously.

This is Joe. Joe likes trees. I mean, REALLY likes trees. For Pete's sake, the boy has several college degrees in trees. Seriously.

This is Jeannette. This photo was taken this past winter right after Jeannette just finished puking because she was preggers. She is not pregnant anymore as she delivered a healthy baby boy named Eli who has a lot of hair. A lot.

This is Jeannette. This photo was taken this past winter right after Jeannette just finished puking because she was preggers. She is not pregnant anymore as she delivered a healthy baby boy named Eli who has a lot of hair. A lot.

By the way, Jeannette really does not have red eyes. I have no idea how fix the red eye thingy feature on my camera. But in other news relating to my technically challenged brain and zero computer knowledge, I now know how to link on my posts. Can we hear a big, “HooAhhh!” for my competency in that area?

 So, back to Joe and Jeannette. When they visit, they also cook for themselves, make bread and I can put them to work on the farm and they love it. In fact, Jeannette can throw a hay bale farther than any gal I have ever seen. She is, after all, a former Wisconsin state tree climbing champion. I kid you not. She won a chainsaw out of the deal. Yep, from what I hear, that’s what ‘them there’ cheeseheads do in Wisconsin, milk cows, make cheese, climb trees and polka. Mercy, can’t forget the polka.

Where was I going with this Joe and Jeannette thing?
Oh, oh, yeah, right. I remember.
Jeannette and I were talking about the good, bad and ugly things with computers and the internet. She suggested that I check out Craig’s list as she thought I might like it, as I am cheap and like to barter.  Turns out that I really like Craig’s list.  So much so that Cranky threatens to disconnect the internet because I am always finding “deals too good to pass up” on there. Like the greenhouse. Well, I’m not going to get into the greenhouse incident but let’s just say that one did not end so good. The greenhouse deal ended up with us being involved in a hit and run accident in the Sheetz parking lot, spilled cappuccinos, and several appearances to testify in court against the thug who hit us. But that was just one good deal with bad ending. There were plenty of other “good” deals that went just dandy.
Like for instance, last spring, I answered an add for “hypothetical turkey poults”.  That should have been my first indication as to what type of person was on the other end of that add. Come on, seriously? Who posts an add for turkey poults that aren’t even hatched yet?  Well, this chick did.
Okay, the chick I'm talking about is not the one in the lavender jacket and not the one walking away. It's the chick in the apron in the farm stand. That chick is Katie.

Okay, the chick I'm talking about is not the one in the lavender jacket and not the one walking away. It's the chick in the apron in the farm stand. That chick is Katie.

Katie, my Craig’s list “hypothetical turkey poult” add posting friend did just that.  I now consider Katie my friend, because that’s what our Craig’s list connection has blossomed into.  We connected in so many ways, it’s uncanny.

So, what does Katie have to do with my busy summer?  As Katie and my internet connection grew, we shared our dreams for our respective farms with the thoughts of how to sustain our agricultural livelihoods.  Turns out that Katie, who has a small scale iris and plant business, Stoney Creek Iris  was looking for someone to share a stand at a new farmer’s market starting up not far from our homes. Turns out that I was in the process of obtaining my farm bakery license  and was looking for an avenue to sell my goods.  And thus, with some collaboration with another partner, we have had a stand at a busy, thriving farmer’s market from this previous spring to the present time. The market is called appropriately enough, Farmers on the Square as it sits on the square of a little county seat town in Pennsylvania. Farmers on the Square is a local and producer’s only farmer’s market which means than all the goods being sold are produced within a 100 mile radius from the market. It is a participating “Buy Fresh, Buy Local” market.  Our stand is called “The Three Sisters Stand” and we offer quite an ecclectic array of goodies. From goat’s milk soap, shitake mushrooms, herbs, unusual produce, homegrown and homeground artisanal breads made from our own all natural wheat.

071 So, now I have this little farm business going which I can not keep up with. I’m just not organized for this type of lifestyle. I mean, come on, I have to be at market at a certain time!? That’s like having a real job. This coming from girl who refuses to wear a watch because I once read that people who do not worry about the time live longer. So, from that day on, out went my wristwatch and I try not to look at our clocks, unless it’s market day. I just know, market day is going to take a couple months off of my life span. I just know it.

So, where am I going with this post? Oh, heck, I forgot. The one thing I can remember is that I blame my new “job” on Jeannette. She is to blame for all of this. Because if she wouldn’t have told me about Craig’s list, I would have never have read the add for hypothetical turkey poults and never met Katie who needed a farmer’s market partner and thus, this vicious cycle would have stopped. It’s like the 6 degrees of separation thing.

And I blame it all on Jeannette.

6 Comments

Filed under farm life

6 responses to “I blame it all on Jeannette.

  1. Jeannette

    HA..You’re welcome Judy! 🙂 🙂

  2. Jeannette

    You know, reading this and some of the other blog postings really got me thinking on how much I’d like to be at that crazy farm of yours. Joe and I love our visits. They also provide opportunity for me to share(and even live out)my crazy ideas with someone who understands(Joe is tired of hearing about them) what it’s like to have this same disease..Judy, you just might have a worse case than me…BUT, we love you anyway 🙂

  3. I now know why I have dragged my butt participating in the farmers market here. Schedule. Mornings. Time. And the fact that they have priced me out with their fees. I’d have to partner up too. Hmmmmmmmm…

    Good hearing from you, blog girl.

  4. Pam

    Sounds like a very worthwhile occupation. I want some of that bread right now (o: I guess I am hungry and it looks really good.

  5. Funny stuff! So, you might be able to get a barrel of monkeys or something that Cranky will dig from your adventures perusing craigslist…

    I sort of like CL too…

  6. deannabananablog

    Hey Judi, I found the blog that I tried to start over here months ago. This place confuses me, but I’ll get used to it. So now if I remember to come here, I can start posting here too, and keep up with your bread and cheesemaking skills.

    Can I just say that a chainsaw is an awfully odd gift for one who climbs trees?! Kinda self-defeating, is it not? haha

Leave a Reply

