We came, we saw and we conquered the PA Farm Show!

Well, we survived three days at the PA Farm Show.  It is an eight day show and I’m sooo glad that we only attend three days.  Wednesday was the day we hauled our antique tractors to the show.  I wanted to get some photos of the tractors loaded up but it was so stinkin’ cold that the camera just did not work.  I did remember to take some inside so I’ll share them now.

PA Farm Show

PA Farm Show

 

My youngins’ four tractors are in the second row from the right.  The second tractor starts our line of three John Deere H’s and there is one Farmall Super C in the line up. 

Two of the John Deere H's

Two of the John Deere H's

 

When my oldest son was eighteen months old,  my daddy bought the first John Deere H at our neighbors farm sale.  That was the first restoration project for his grandchildren.

Tractors, tractors and more tractors

Tractors, tractors and more tractors

Then, when the second son was born, my daddy started another John Deere H restoration.  That particular tractor was used as a golf course ball sweeper so he had his work cut out on that one.  But he got it restored just in time to find out I was pregnant again.  So, he found the  Farmall Super C for the third son.  And started another restoration.  This restoration took a little longer as the Farmall was pretty rough.  He finished it up to find out I was pregnant again.

Third son's little Farmall Super C

Third son's little Farmall Super C

Finally, my daddy who is usually pretty quiet and minds his own business, said to me, “Would you please quit having babies so I can get caught up with these restorations?!”

 

The girl on her John Deere H

The girl on her John Deere H

It took awhile to find another John Deere H as restorable antique tractors are getting harder to come by.  The girl was about two when we finally found another tractor that needed a total restoration.  Ironically, we were at the Farm Show three years ago, when a man was admiring our other three tractors on display.  We started talking and he said that he had a John Deere H that had been his father’s.  He wanted to sell it but he wanted it to go to a farm with kids as this was the tractor that he had learned to drive tractor on as a kid.  We struck a deal and ended up traveling two hours one way to pick up the tractor.  The  man shed a tear or two as he saw the old tractor pulling out of his driveway, loaded up on a trailer.  My daddy started the restoration right away, but this tractor was probably the worst one out of all the others.  The tractor had been sitting in a barn for over thirty years.  About one year into the restoration, my daddy had a stroke.  So, the tractor sat in one of our sheds all torn apart until my daddy recovered from the stroke.  After last year’s Farm Show, it was the initiative that he needed to finish the restoration.  The girl showed her tractor for the first time September 2008 at a local tractor show and has been in our county’s Veteran’s Day parade.  This was it’s third official showing, but it did plant our crop of winter wheat this past fall!

And yes, my youngins’ know how to drive their tractors.  Some of you will not agree with this but this is our life.  We live on a family farm and to keep this farm going, everybody needs to help.  Yes, that means that sometimes you will see my youngins’ driving tractors because we need them to help us out. That’s the way it is and if you don’t like it…well, I reckon we just better agree to disagree!  Besides, haven’t you read all the studies that farm kids are safer drivers out on the roads?  It’s true.  Look it up.  Oops, off on a tangent…I’m easily distracted.

One more photo…this is what I picked up at the farm show.  Another farmer t-shirt and a “Got Milk?” license plate.  Too cool, I know.
"Farmers keep America growing" and "Got Milk?"

"Farmers keep America growing" and "Got Milk?"

Hopefully, I can post more on the Farm Show tomorrow.  You have to see the pedal tractor pulls. It’s a hoot!
Leave a comment

Filed under tractors

Leave a Reply

