A quick post (hopefully)

My posts seem to take me forever…downloading the photos takes a long time. I usually go do something else when I download, like go to the bathroom, throw wood on the fire or start another load of laundry.  Anyway, my point today is that today is not going to be a long post.

  We are headed to the Pennsylavania State Farm Show for the rest of the week and I still have alot to get done before we head go. Tomorrow is Farmer Day and Antique Tractor Day.  We fall into both categories.  My daddy restored antique tractors for all four of my babies, and they regularly show them around the area at tractor shows and parades.  But tomorrow is the big one.  The PA Farm Show is the largest indoor agricultural event in the United States, so this is big stuff, especially to my four little hillbilly youngins’. So, I’m off to try to get tractors running in this cold, clean them up, loaded on trailers and pack lunches for the tribe.  There is wonderful food at the Farm Show…it’s supposedly shows off PA’s wonderful agriculture with the finest food, but we just can’t afford it.

Some here are some shots of last week’s ice storm and maybe a few random farm shots. We will see how long it takes to download them.

The old rusty caboose that sits on our farm. (more on this later, maybe in a future post)

The old rusty caboose that sits on our farm. (more on this later, maybe in a future post)

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This rusty firetruck sits in our pasture. Why? I don't know.  My daddy says he can use something off of it for something.

This rusty firetruck sits in our pasture. Why? I don't know. My daddy says he can use something off of it for something.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
When I was little, I used to be embarassed that we had a firetruck sitting in our pasture.  Come on, having a non running firetruck sitting at your place would be embarassing, right?  Well, I thought it was.  It just doesn’t jive with the mental picture I have about the perfect farm, with the red barn, quaint farmhouse, cute, little outbuildings, beautiful fencing and a big, red, rusty firetruck.  See? It doesn’t fit. Told you.  Anyway, I now love that rusty, old firetruck and will throw a hissy fit, if they ever take it away. Now, I even take photos of it, because I think it looks so cool!  Just sitting there, rusting away in our pasture.
 
Isn't it the the prettest thing you ever saw?

Isn't it the the prettest thing you ever saw?

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
And now a word from someone who is “having a cow” because we won’t be home during the day the next couple days.  She’s mighty upset.
 
"I want to go to the Farm Show. I hear they have really good milkshakes there!"

"I want to go to the Farm Show. I hear they have really good milkshakes there!"

Get it? ” Having a cow?” I’m so funny that I have missed my calling in life…I should have been comedian.  Ha he he.
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 Comments

Filed under farm life

4 responses to “A quick post (hopefully)

  1. Hi! I found you from the biscuit post at The Cotton Wife. I’m in PA, too, and going to the Farm Show on Wednesday. I’m not a farmer, but it’s the day our Extension is running the bus trip. I look forward to seeing what you post about it later.

  2. Hey did you steal my firetruck? I groan every time hubby thinks he’s gonna fix it.

  3. Ohhhh, I love that old fire engine! It looks even better surrounded in the ice and snow. We have a rusty ’49 Chevy pickup that my husband said we should sell. Sell!? Is he CRAZY? I love those rusty old vehicles. Can’t wait to hear more about that caboose too =)

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog! I will be back here too!! I LOVE the fire truck.

Leave a Reply

